Donors Honored at the Meredith Society Gala

The Meredith Society Gala on March 21, 2024, honored donors who have shown continued support of Meredith College through lifetime giving. The Meredith Society was established to recognize and express gratitude to those donors who have distinguished themselves by their generous support of the College through their ongoing and significant gifts. The society comprises four circles: Platinum Circle $5 million or more, Gold Circle $1 million – $4,999,999, Silver Circle $500,000 – $999,999, and Bronze Circle $100,000 – $499,999. 

Over 200 donors were in attendance at the Raleigh Marriott City Center. Charles Royal, chair of the Board of Trustees, and Ella Plyler Frantz, ʼ80, vice chair, emceed the event. The event also honored all giving societies including the Stringfield Society, which recognizes endowed gifts, and the Lanneau Society, which recognizes gifts from a will, trust, insurance policy, or gift annuity. 

“Lifetime giving at Meredith has sustained our College through challenges, expansions, pandemics, and growth. Meredith is Strong because of you,” said Royal to those in attendance.  “Many of you with us this evening have supported the College over the course of decades. You believe in Meredith and demonstrate that belief by sharing your time, gifts, and loyalty year after year.” 

At the event, the newest members were inducted into The Meredith Society at the bronze, silver, gold, and platinum levels. They joined over 480 members of the Meredith community, and their total gifts to the College are valued at more than $55 million.  

After the new members were inducted, President Jo Allen, ’80. thanked the attendees for their support during her tenure.

“In the last 13 years, our donors have pledged or contributed over $167 million, tremendously impacting our ability to offer scholarships, enhance student experiences, support faculty/staff development, build or renovate key facilities, and address the greatest needs of the College….all helping to make Meredith a place people want to be because we deliver results,” said President Allen.

“Tonight, we sit among a room of stars who are both humbling and impressive. You have given generously to this College, and I hope you will agree we have used your gifts to honor your passions and commitments and to make a difference in the ways you see fit. And as I retire, I have thought, ‘What should be my final message to a room of philanthropists who love this College?’ It is simply this: I ask you one last time…And for long after I am gone….to continue to Make It Count for Meredith — and for us all.”


New Members of The Meredith Society:

The Meredith Society – Platinum Circle

Elizabeth Adams, ’62

Margaret R. Beale, ’77*

Vickie Reagan Rolfe, ’71, and Chris Rolfe


The Meredith Society – Gold Circle

President Jo Allen, ’80

Christine Speight Brown, ’76

Patricia Taylor Clark, ’62

Susan Harris Frazier, ’81*

Robbie Walker Griffin, ’91

Carolyn M. Happer and Leonard Graham

Dr. E. Bruce Heilman*

Mary Alice McGee, ’72

Deborah Stanley McNeill, ’71

Betsy Best Phillips, ’71, ’86, ’89 (MBA)

Lisa Robie Poole, ’86, and Ven Poole

Jeannette Scott, ’54*

Deborah Dove Smith, ’80

Brian D. and Nancy P. Siska, ’76

Marva A. Watkins, ’86

Betty Webb, ’67, and John Rose*


The Meredith Society – Silver Circle

Mary Stuart Parker Alderman, ’71, and Jack Alderman

Mary Ann Bacon, ’01, and Robert Bacon

Cooperative Baptist Fellowship of North Carolina, Inc.

Sandra G. Godwin, ’79, and Carolyn E. Hart

Patricia Blair Newlin, Ph.D., ’65*

Martha and Robert Speight, Jr.

The Cannon Foundation, Inc.


The Meredith Society – Bronze Circle

Anonymous Donors

Arthur Vining Davis Foundation

Nancy Barnhill Aycock, ’72

Kathryn Booth Butler, ’68

Patricia Whisnant Cease, ’75

Sandra Critzer Close, ’86

John and Elizabeth Cooley

William Dicus, III

Penelope L. Gallins, ’72

Lois Williams Gerald, ’55*

Cindy Parkman Godwin, ’89, and Rickey Godwin

Cynthia C. Godwin, ’74

Dr. Ellen Bonham Goode

Theresa Ayers Griffin, ’68*, and Thomas W. Griffin

Emily Hines Harper, ’09*

Leslie Landis Hayes, ’80

Martha and Ken Howard

Christine Hughes, ’98, and Daniel Hughes

Inland Construction

James & Mildred Wilkinson Charitable Foundation

Catherine McCracken James, ’77, and Hayden James

Patricia Armstrong Johnson, ’70, and W. Donald Johnson

Fayette Jacobs Jones, ’73

Gwendolyn Boyd Kincaid, ’75

Robert H. Lewis*

Marshall Moore Marchman, ’66*, and James F. Marchman, III

Jay and Wilbur Massey*

Susan and Mac McMichael, Jr.

Polly Moore Mixon, ’66, and Ben Mixon

Sally Newton Morrow, ’58

Marianne Nifong Raker, ’72

Jessie Markert Rivers, ’71

Joyce McIntyre Rudisill, ’42*

Ginger and John Sall

Linda Blanchard Sparks, ’67, and Terry G. Sparks

Silda Wall Spitzer, ’80

Lee Parker Smith Spong, ’66

Sharon R. Stephenson, ’77

The Belcher Family Trust

Carol Boyd Tillman, ’72, and Brantley Tillman

Phyllis Trible, ’54

Elizabeth Ankers Tuttle, ’73

Kathy Moore Watkins, ’72, and Dan Watkins

Meredith Marr Watson, ’74, and Michael Watson

Margaret McGaughey Wells, ’82

Peggy Allen Williamson, ’71, and Andrew A. Williamson

Iris Merrit Womble, ’56, and Thomas Womble

Cindy Thomas Wood, ’80, and Dennis F. Wood



Melyssa Allen

News Director
316 Johnson Hall
(919) 760-8087
Fax: (919) 760-8330
Skip to content