Tony Award-Winning Alumna Beth Leavel to Receive 2023 Woman of Achievement Award

Tony Award-winner Beth Leavel will receive Meredith College’s 2023 Woman of Achievement Award. 

In celebration of this award, Leavel will be interviewed by Meredith Professor Emerita Catherine Rodgers on Tuesday, April 4, at 7 p.m. in Jones Auditorium. Rodgers is a Meredith alumna who retired from the College’s theatre faculty in 2022.

The Woman of Achievement event is free and open to the public.

Leavel, a 1977 graduate of Meredith College, is an accomplished Broadway performer who will next be seen starring as Miranda Priestley in the new Broadway musical, The Devil Wears Prada, with music by Elton John. 

Most recently, Leavel was nominated for a 2019 Tony, Drama Desk, Drama League, and Outer Critic’s Circle award for her performance as DeeDee Allen in the critically acclaimed Broadway show The Prom. She received Tony, Drama Desk, NY Outer Critics Circle, and L.A. Drama Critics Awards for her performance as the title character in The Drowsy Chaperone; as well as Tony, Drama Desk, and Outer Critics Circle nominations for her role as Florence Greenberg in Baby It’s You

Other Broadway roles include Mrs. June Adams in Bandstand, Emily in Elf, Donna in Mamma Mia!, Frau Blucher in Young Frankenstein, Dorothy Brock in the revival of 42nd Street, Tess in the original company of Crazy For You, Mrs. Bixby in The Civil War, Ellie in Hal Prince’s Showboat, and Anytime Annie (Broadway debut) in 42nd Street.  She has also had numerous TV roles, most recently The Ghosts of Christmas Always (Hallmark), The Walking Dead (AMC), and The Bite (Spectrum). Her one-woman cabaret, It’s Not About Me, has played across the country to rave reviews and sold-out venues.

Leavel decided during her senior year at Meredith to pursue an acting career. As a student, she performed in Meredith productions while earning her degree in sociology and social work. She later completed an MFA  degree in theatre at UNC-Greensboro. 

Meredith College’s Woman of Achievement Award recognizes women who are inspirational role models. Previous recipients include Supreme Court Associate Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg, former N.C. Supreme Court Chief Justice Sarah Parker, N.C. Secretary of State Elaine Marshall, journalist Judy Woodruff, Tony Award-winning choreographer Twyla Tharp, and chef Vivian Howard.

For Meredith students, this event qualifies as an academic/cultural event in General Education.

Melyssa Allen

News Director
316 Johnson Hall
(919) 760-8087
Fax: (919) 760-8330