Meredith Holds 2021-22 Employee Awards and Recognition Event

Meredith College held its annual awards and recognition celebration for employees on April 18, 2022. 

Service awards were shared for employees who reached milestone years of employment during the 2021-22 academic year. 

Employees who have recently retired or will retire at the end of this academic year were also recognized for their contributions to Meredith:

  • Sharon Campbell, Facilities Services
  • Francie Cuffney, Biological Sciences 
  • Bill Dupont, Chemistry, Physics & Geoscience 
  • Diane Ellis, Human Environmental Sciences
  • Carol Gramer, Office of the President 
  • Eloise Grathwohl, English  
  • Bill Landis, Nutrition, Health & Human Performance 
  • Trea Marvin, Office of Financial Assistance 
  • Jeannie Morelock, Office of the President 
  • Anne Pickard, Academic Affairs 
  • Jean Rick, Library 
  • Cathy Rodgers, Theatre  
  • Margarita Suarez, Religious & Ethical Studies 


The following recognition awards were also presented to faculty and staff during the event.


Access Award:  Amanda Jones,  Assistant Professor of Social Work
The Access Award is intended to honor a member of the faculty or staff at Meredith College who has made significant contributions toward the advocacy, support, encouragement, and success of students with disabilities. Nominations are collected from students with disabilities and are voted on by the Disability  Services Panel. 

Staff Recognition Awards:Tito Sanchez, Security Officer, Campus Police
Melyssa Allen, News Director, Marketing Department

Two Staff Recognition Awards are presented each year to recognize Meredith staff members who, through their job performance, have demonstrated initiative, teamwork, extra effort, and outstanding customer service to the  Meredith community. All non-faculty employees who have been employed by the College for at least a year are eligible for the award. Nominations from faculty, staff, and students are submitted to the Staff Affairs  Committee, which selects the two recipients. 

Adjunct Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching:
Patty Clemons, Mathematics and Computer Science
Wall Crumpler, Biological Sciences

The Adjunct Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching is based on the impact of the adjunct faculty member who,  through their job performance has demonstrated initiative, teamwork, extra effort, and outstanding customer service to the Meredith community.  

Harry and Marion Eberly Faculty Development Award: Jennifer Hontz, Professor of Mathematics
In 1991, as part of the FAME Endowment, Harry and Marion Eberly established this award to express a  commitment to the ideals of Meredith College and to provide faculty with assistance to develop their expertise. The first award was presented in 1993. The selection of recipients is based on recommendations from faculty, staff, and students. 

Pauline Davis Perry Award for Excellence in Teaching: Sharon Malley, Assistant Professor of Exercise and Sports Science
The Pauline Davis Perry Award for Excellence in Teaching, awarded since 1980, recognizes outstanding teachers at Meredith. Current students and alumnae tell us that the strength of Meredith College resides with its faculty and their work with students. Nominations and letters of support are obtained from faculty, staff, and students. Student input is specifically requested from student organizations and student leaders. 

Pauline Davis Perry Award for Research, Publication, and/or Artistic Achievement: Pamela Norcross, Assistant Professor of Child Development, and Betty-Shannon Prevatt, Assistant Professor of Psychology

The Pauline Davis Perry Award for excellence in scholarship and professional achievement has been presented to faculty since 1980. This award recognizes outstanding research, publication, and/or artistic achievement.  Faculty, staff, and students provide nominations and letters of support for this award. 

Ida H. Friday Faculty Award: Rebecca Hagedorn-Hatfield, Assistant Professor, Food and Nutrition
The Ida H. Friday Fund at Meredith College is an endowment established in honor of Mrs. Friday, a graduate of the Meredith Class of 1941. The Friday family created the fund to provide support to a member of the faculty to enhance his or her general academic advancement, travel, or achievement with preference given to younger faculty.

The Allen and Barbara Page Presidential Award: Beth Meier, Director of the Counseling Center
In 2011, the Presidential Staff Award was renamed the Allen and Barbara Page Presidential Award to honor  Allen and Barbara Page. Allen is the retired Vice President for Academic Programs and Barbara is a member of the Class of 1954. The Allen and Barbara Page Presidential Award is presented to the staff member who shows exemplary service to the Meredith community. The President of the College selects the recipient based on recommendations submitted by faculty, staff, and students. 

Laura Harrill Presidential Award:
Sasha Ormond, Associate Professor of Chemistry and Director of Dual Degree Engineering
Tina Romanelli, Assistant Professor of English and Director of the Learning Center

Since 1980, two Laura Harrill Presidential Awards have been presented to faculty who have made significant contributions to the betterment of Meredith College. The President of the College selects the recipients based on recommendations from faculty, staff, and students. 

Melyssa Allen

News Director
316 Johnson Hall
(919) 760-8087
Fax: (919) 760-8330